In late September, an independent yarn dyer friend, specially dyed some yarn to match a hat made of yarn I had purchased from her several years ago (https://fstafford165.wordpress.com/2013/09/21/girls-day-out/) .  I love the color, it is my favorite winter hat, my own design.  Ever since I knit the hat, I have wanted a scarf to match the hat.  She had tried several times to duplicate the color, which had been an unintentional, wonderful accident, but had not been able to make the match.  When I asked again this year, not for a match, but a yarn that would coordinate, maybe blend with the hat color, she tried again and hit it true on.

20130921_153438

Other items had been on my needles, the reknit of daughter’s black lace sweater, a sweater and hat for a baby due in December, the two hats for the grandkids for their Halloween costumes, and the finger puppets for the grand daughters, so I had not begun the design for the scarf.  The very cold couple of days this week were incentive to get on this scarf design, to get it knit before the winter weather is consistent.  The past couple of days knitting have been dedicated to the scarf design.  I have completed three repeats of the hat pattern and am now trying to decide how to proceed.  The hat has a simple stockinette upper part, decreasing to the top.  My dilemma is whether to continue to repeat the pattern to the center, reverse it for the other half, to work in stockinette like the hat until the length is near what I want then reverse the pattern for the other end, or doing a lighter simple lace that is part of the pattern for the center section.  What do you think?

wpid-20131114_180925.jpg

Once it is complete, the pattern will be published to go with the published hat and finished photos of the hat and scarf together will be posted.

