Tags

, ,

As I sold all of my interchangeable knitting needles and ordered fixed circular knitting needles, I needed storage.  Interchangeables come in clever compact cases that hold the tips and the cables, but fixed circulars come in individual packages and when they arrive, I will have 2 lengths of 10 sizes, a potential snake’s nest if put in a basket.  I have spent a couple of hours searching through Etsy looking for a solution.  I know what I want, something that resembles a CD case and I was willing to pay someone else to design and make it, but I couldn’t find anything that wasn’t either a roll or much larger than I desired.

My other desire was a means to make my favorite go to bag more organized.

wpid-IMG_20140221_212349.jpg

 

This bag is a leather tote from Duluth Trading Company, it is my travel tote, my knitting bag, carries my wallet, tablet, notepad, small case with lotion bar, lip balm, comb, pens, camera, and a shawl or scarf.  The bag is 12 x 4 x 13.5 with a zipped top.  Because of its size, it swallows my tiny wallet and keys.  One of my friends used to have a business making bags and she put a liner in them that had pockets around the perimeter.  I sew, but my machine isn’t heavy enough to sew through the liner and the leather.  After approaching this friend, she agreed to help me sew the lining in if I made what I wanted.

Today turned into a craft day as I tackled these two problems after some planning last night and a trip to the fabric store today.

First, I tackled the liner.  I bought a firm drapery fabric, measured twice, cut once and formed just what I wanted.  It is temporarily basted into the bag until I can get with my friend to sew it in place.

wpid-IMG_20140221_212331.jpg

 

The other project was accomplished with quilting quarters, scraps from the bag liner, and a few inches of synthetic leather.  I still need to sew the button and leather loop on, but it is colorful and I think will fulfill my needs.  The supplies for both projects ended up costing less than a needle case on Etsy that would have been less satisfactory to me.

wpid-IMG_20140221_212257.jpg

