Tags

, , ,

The Vernal Equinox found us yesterday with clear sky, warmer temperatures and wind.  It was too windy for Jim to ride, too windy to want to tackle adding ventilation holes higher in my coop, too windy, but so welcome.  Today is warmer and calmer.  We have three beautiful days as the calm before the next predicted snow event.  I get anxious each year to start being outside more, to dig in warm soil, to plant, but truly, it isn’t safe to put much in the ground here other than cold weather crops until Mother’s Day, so I have to wait.  I did start my peppers and some of my tomatoes in flats yesterday.  I ran out of medium before I ran out of pots and seed.

My new spinning wheel arrived at the shop yesterday, but alas, it isn’t open on Wednesday, so I am meeting the owner in town today to pick it up.  I’m excited to put it together and give it a spin.

Today the chicklets are 2 weeks old.  I keep waiting to go into the basement and find them everywhere as they are developing feathers and starting to hop and flap higher up the sides of the brooder.

wpid-20140321_095129.jpg

Socialization continues with them, with “The Hand” that appears over the side of the brooder and then teases with wiggling fingers, rings, or a small pile of their food to teach them not to fear me.  I don’t handle my birds except when necessary like Wednesday night when 3 got out of the pen while I was out and couldn’t get back in to coop up for the night.  When I arrived home around 9 pm and went over to close up the coop, I found Cogburn and two of the hens in a pile huddled together where the fence joins the coop nearest their ramp back inside.  Each was picked up, slightly ruffled and put inside on a perch none the worse for wear.

wpid-20140321_095205.jpg

 

Because of the lack of a spinning wheel and to try to have my sweater finished before the storm next week, I have been knitting only on Estelle.  Last night I finished the second sleeve and picked up and knit the first 2 rows of the feather and fan band.

wpid-20140321_095723.jpg

 

I am pleased that it will probably be finished tonight.  Then I have to figure out where the marker goes in my honey cowl and how much of a row I have to tink to get it back on track.  My sock needles that I ordered are in route, so I can finish the never ending pair of socks.  My yarn came from Quince and Co. to make the Lola Shawl in the issue 9 of taproot magazine and I still have the Unplanned Peacock Botanical dk skein to make into something beautiful that will show off it’s wonderful colors.

We are off to enjoy the spring day, Jim on his motorcycle, me to pick up my wheel then work on the coop and run, maybe get a real gate in so that they can’t escape again unless I let them out.  I also need to relocate some of the extra hay that seems to have all worked its way downhill to the end of their run, putting too much mulch around the peach tree and shrub in the run and none up where I enter their pen.

Life is an adventure on our mountain farm.

