Tags

, , , ,

ACKKKK! I have been having cell phone issues, heating up so hot I can’t carry it in my pocket, holding a charge for only 4 to 5 hours with the Data turned off and the phone is only 8 months old. Yesterday afternoon on my way to my knit group, hubby and I returned to the cellular phone store where it was purchased with the idea that we were probably going to have to purchase me a new phone.  The agent said that our model the Samsung 3 did develop those issues with the update, but that resetting it to the factory settings would probably cure that.  He asked me had I ever done a factory reset and I said no.  He backed up my contacts to the SD card, we checked that all my photos were on the SD card but never, ever, did he ask about my calendar.

I figured any of the other apps that I use could easily be reinstalled.  He reset my phone and worked me through setting up the google account.  As the store is 2 doors down from Starbucks, I immediately added that app and rewarded myself with a glass of iced roibus tea.  The phone held its charge though the evening with my friends, didn’t get warm.  I was excited, until this morning when I checked my calendar to see if we had anything scheduled today and discovered nothing but national holidays and family and friends birthdays.  ACKKKK!  I have a paper calendar on my fridge with that info.  I don’t carry a paper calendar anymore since I retired, when I used to carry a Franklin Planner every step I took.  I am a retired senior citizen, but I do like my electronics and have been frustrated that my phone calendar did not sync with my Google calendar, but not wanting to input the data in both, have just used the phone calendar.  I know I have appointments scheduled 6 months to a year ahead and now I don’t know when.  Perhaps I am going to have to revert to the old fashioned paper calendar on the fridge.  If smart phones are so smart, why am I calendar free now?

20140424_095837

I have now installed the Google Calendar app and will hide the default calendar and hope that it will sync to my other devices.

