Tags

, , , ,

Last night after dinner out and before it got dark, I pushed the mower two swipes around the house and in the corner that I can’t reach with the tractor in preparation for mowing this morning.  The first mowing of the season, I got as close as I could and just did a patch around the house large enough to get to the cars, the chicken coop and garden without walking through knee high grass and I didn’t premow the close strips, so that grass was thick and tall last night, stalling out the mower constantly.

This morning after a trip to the Farmers’ Market for meat and spring greens and turnips, I cranked up the tractor and mowed the area we consider yard in the middle of our 30 acres.  That includes around the garden, the orchard, an area that is too small to hay above the orchard, around the well head and the front, side, and back areas that are regularly mowed.  With last week’s rain, it didn’t look like it had already been mowed once.  The areas around the chicken fence and close around the orchard trees has to be done with the lawn mower or weed whacker and I started on them with the mower and ran out of gas.  Not wanting to go out again, I quit for the day, just before Jim arrived back home from his motorcycle ride.

As soon as I came in to get the watering can to water the newly planted porch and deck pots, I spotted a hummingbird who had already found the red geraniums that I planted yesterday.  Have you ever tried to take a picture of a hummingbird?  You will just have to take my word for it.

It is looking more like spring everyday.  The trees all have a haze of small green leaves, the dogwoods are blooming and beautiful.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Only another week or two and we should be clear of late frost and more of the garden will be planted.

Life is an adventure on our mountain farm.

