Tags

, ,

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Today was cold and rainy.  It was supposed to get up in the low 50’s, but it barely made it above freezing.  The time was spent indoors for the most part so I spent it spinning and doing a little knitting.  I had spun 4 ounces of Dorset lamb roving at the spinning retreat last weekend and began on the other 4 ounces when I got home.  So far about an ounce has been done.  It is going to take a jumbo flyer and a large bobbin to ply it and I don’t have one.  I may set them aside until I save enough money to buy the flyer and jumbo bobbin for my wheel.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

After I finished this last week, I had a few yards of one ply left and Navajo plied it wondering what to do with such a small amount.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

At the retreat last weekend, I decided that I needed a small bag or basket to hang on my wheel to hold the spinning oil, WPI tool and repair items, so I used the scraps to knit this little bag for my spinning notions and tools and hung it on my wheel.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This is the roving that I purchased to make myself a sweater from my own handspun. It really is darker than it appears in this photo.   It was put away in a plastic bag to keep the stink bugs out until I get the Dorset spun and spin the roving that I bought for my daughter.

